How to Restore, Sync or Disable KIK Contacts?

In this article, we will cover various questions related to KIK Contacts, let’s get started.

How to Restore, Sync or Disable KIK Contacts?

Can contacts see my KIK?

Since KIK does not require you to register with phone numbers or other personal information, except for your email address, the primary way of connecting with other people on KIK is by sharing your unique username. However, if you have added your phone number while registering your account, or later, you can use the optional feature of allowing your contacts to find you on KIK. The feature checks the phone numbers and emails saved on your device and if any of them matches with any account on KIK, the app automatically informs both you and your contacts with a message. You can follow the following steps to turn on this feature:

  1. Click on the + button on your main chats list
  2. Click on ‘Find People’ and then click on ‘Find my Phone Contacts’
  3. Now enter your phone number and click on ‘Find Friends’

Alternatively, you can also go to settings, select Privacy and select Use Phone Contacts to turn this feature on. Your phone number won’t be visible even if you have turned on this feature.

Remember that people who have your email and phone number in their phones can still find you, even if you haven’t turned on this feature. However, you can Disable it to avoid that.

  1. To disable “Let friends find me” option:
  2. Click on the + button on your main chat list
  3. Click on ‘Find People’ and then click on ‘Find my Phone Contacts’
  4. Select the more icon, or the three dots on the top right corner
  5. Select the Disable option
  6. Go to the ‘Privacy Options’
  7. Here you can Disable the ‘Let friends find me’ option.
  8. Confirm by tapping on ‘I’m sure’

How to restore KIK contacts?

Ideally, you should not lose your KIK contacts, but sometimes, it may happen when you log out of your account, log in with a different device, delete the KIK app from your device or deactivate your KIK account temporarily. Generally, these actions should only clear your chat history, and you should still be able to see your original conversation list, without the messages and content. However, if you have lost your contacts too, you can try out these steps to retrieve your contacts :

  1. Force close the KIK app and then reopen it. You can also reboot your phone.
  2. Log out from your account and then log in.
  3. Uninstall the app from your phone and then re-install it.
  4. Tap on the + icon on the bottom right and go to the ‘Find friends’ option. Scroll to find ‘chatting with’. Here you can find all the people that you have added as friends. You can text these people if they are still active. If you wish to remove a person, you can delete them. Remember deleting a person is not the same as blocking them, and you can still add them back if you remember their exact username.

 

Does KIK sync with contacts?

Yes, you can sync your phone contacts with the KIK app to add your friends who already have a KIK account. It is the only way of adding friends on KIK other than by searching them directly by their username or KIK code. For this you must register with your personal email and add your phone number. Remember that your phone number will not be visible on your profile, ever.

How to sync phone contacts to KIK?

To sync your contacts:

METHOD 1:

  • Click on the + button on your main chats list
  • Click on ‘Find People’ and then click on ‘Find by Phone Contacts’
  • Now enter your phone number and click on ‘Find Friends’

METHOD 2:

  • Go to settings
  • Select Privacy
  • Select Use Phone Contacts to turn this feature on

 

How to disable contact sync in KIK?

If you don’t wish to sync your contacts, you should just not enable this feature, however, your contacts will still be able to find you unless you disable it. To disable:

  1. Click on the + button on your main chat list
  2. Click on ‘Find People’ and then click on ‘Find my Phone Contacts’
  3. Select the more icon, or the three dots on the top right corner
  4. Select the Disable option
  5. Go to the ‘Privacy Options’
  6. Here you can Disable the ‘Let friends find me’ option
  7. Confirm by tapping on ‘I’m sure’

 

How to update your phone number in KIK?

Follow the steps to update your phone number in the app or insert one:

  1. First, disable the feature by following the first four steps stated above.
  2. Then tap on ‘I’m sure’.
  3. Now enter your new updated phone number and tap on ‘Find friends’

 

How to search someone on KIK?

To search someone on KIK:

  • Click on the + icon at the top right corner of the screen, in your KIK app.
  • Click on the ‘Find People’ option.

Now you can search for people by multiple means:

  1. If someone is already a part of your KIK contact list then you can directly search for them by their name in the search bar.
  2. If you know the exact username of the person you wish to search, click on the ‘Find by username’ option. Here you can type their username and their account will show up in the search result. You can tap on ‘Start Chatting’ to send them a message.
  3. Alternatively, if someone is already in your phone book, you can click on ‘Find people by Phone contact’. This option will search for all the saved phone numbers and email addresses in your phone and if it finds a KIK account registered with that phone or email, then it will automatically add them to your contact list and send the both of you a text. You can also invite contacts who are not already on KIK via this option.
  4. If you wish to search for strangers on KIK, and not any specific person, you can try out different sites online that search and match KIK usernames based on different criteria.

 

Is KIK anonymous or not?

KIK has a very strict policy of privacy and anonymity. The app only needs you to register with an email, to create an account. You can add a phone number, but that’s optional. Contacts are added on KIK by phone number if you have provided one and wish to sync contacts. You can also disable this feature. The primary way of adding and searching for contacts is via the unique username that you pick while creating an account.

At any rate, your email address, birth date and your phone number (if you have provided one), will not be visible on your profile. Your profile will only display your username, your display name, and your profile picture. Your username will also be visible to anyone who is a part of any group that you have joined (public/private). In that sense, KIK is completely anonymous; which is why you must always remain conscious about strangers you meet online and not disclose your personal information to anyone.

Otherwise just to keep yourself hassle free, You can also keep your account more private and hidden by disabling the “Let friends find me” option, not sharing your username on other social media sites and picking a strong username which is not easy to search randomly. You can also block people you do not wish to interact with.

Leave a Comment